Tigray, found in northern Ethiopia is one of the 9 regional states of Ethiopia and the home of the ancient Aksumite kingdom and the historic settlements of Aksum, the kingdom’s capital; Yeha, a ruined town of great antiquity; and Adwa, the site of a battle in 1896 in which the Italian invading force was defeated.

The total area of region is about 54,569.25 km². It is bordered in the north by Eritrea, in the south by Amhara Region, in the East by Afar region and in the west by Sudan. The region is administratively divided into 7 Zones including one especial Zone, Mekelle. It has 46 Woredas (34 rural and 12 urban) and 763 Kebelles/ tabias (702 Rural and 61 Urban). Centuries of erosion and deforestation overgrazing have left the region with dry and treeless plains, hills and plateaus. Nevertheless an amazing landscape of chains of mountains ranging from 3,250-3,500 meters, Clifts ledges and precipices are natural attractions of the region. Two altitude extremes: the elevation of the region rises from 600 to 2,700 above sea level, the Tekeze Gorge 550 meters above sea level and the Kisad Gudo peak at 3935 meters above sea level are among Tigray’s natural scenery which is classified in to the central highland, the western lowland and eastern escarpments. The climate of the region is characterized as kola (semi arid), 39%, woina dega (warm temperate), 49% and dega (temperate), 12%. The annual regional rainfall ranges from 450 to 980mm. According to the projected census of 2007, the region has a total population of 5,128,532 in 2006 EFY.